MLW National Openweight Championship (2019 – Present)

The MLW National Openweight Championship is a professional wrestling championship created and promoted by the American professional wrestling promotion Major League Wrestling (MLW). The title was unveiled on April 18, 2019. The title’s openweight nature, a division more common in Japanese professional wrestling, means that both heavyweight and middleweight wrestlers are eligible to challenge for it. The current and inaugural champion is Alexander Hammerstone, who his in its first reign, after defeating Brian Pillman Jr. in a four-man single-elimination tournament final.

On April 18, 2019, Major League Wrestling (MLW) announced the creation of the MLW National Openweight Championship, a division more common in Japanese professional wrestling, since MLW already had a middleweight division. Also announced was a four-man single-elimination tournament that would culminate on June 1 with the crowning of the first champion. The tournament to crown the inaugural champion was later advertised on MLW Fusion, while being announced four wrestler to participate in the tournament, which was announced on May 4 by MLW Fusion’s Executive Producer Salina de la Renta. The title was unveiled on May 17. On June 1 at Fury Road, Alexander Hammerstone defeated Brian Pillman Jr. in the finals of the tournament to become the inaugural MLW National Openweight Champion.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MLW National Openweight Championship (2019 – Present)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *